This is legal as long as this does not cause a delay. Therefore, the 2nd referee simply carries out one substitution. The scorer is responsible for recording only substitutions which actually take place. In such a case, the 2nd referee should carefully check how many substitutions were recorded in the score sheet, regardless of whether a paper or an electronic one is used. Rules 15.10.2, 15.10.3a, 15.10.4, 16.1
If a rally has been interrupted due to an injury, or an external interference, for example a ball rolling onto the court, the net has been broken, failure of electricity, etc., it is improper to request any regular game interruption, except a forced substitution for an injured or sanctioned player. Refereeing Guidelines Rule 6 and 15.8
The 2nd referee was correct. This was a typical case of an improper request, which had to be recorded in the score sheet. If this was a repeated improper request, a delay sanction must have been issued. Rules 15.11.2, 16.1.1
Yes. As penalties (not warnings) are considered as completed rallies, the new request can be accepted in this case. Rule 6.1.3 – 15 - 15.2.1, 15.11.1.3
Yes. The referees applied well the new approach of the multiple substitutions. If there is no real delay, the referees should be flexible. Refereeing Guidelines and Instructions
No. A substitute player should be ready to play in the moment of the request for substitution. A player wearing a warming up shirt cannot be considered being ready to play; therefore, this request has to be denied and a delay sanction is to be issued. Rules 15.10.3a, 15.10.3b.
No – while two Time outs can be called by the same team in the same interruption, two successive substitution requests are NOT allowed and the second one should be considered as an improper request. Rules 15.3.1, 15.3.2, 15.10.3a, 15.11.1.3, 25.2.2.6
Normally this is an improper request – but here an actual delay occurred. So reject or immediately curtail the time-out. Players return to court. The Game Captain is informed of the actual delay and a delay sanction is applied. Rules 15.11.1.4, 16.1.5, 25.2.2.6
Referees must use discretion if an injury occurs in which a player bleeds. If an immediate medical treatment does not rectify the injury, he/she must be substituted or replaced until the bleeding is stopped and the blood is removed from the player’s uniform. A substitute player must be permitted a reasonable time to take off his/her training suit and enter the game. It is an acceptable procedure by the 1streferee to give neither a delay sanction nor to ask the team for a game interruption. Rules 4.4, 15.5, 15.10.2, 15.10.3a, 17.1.1
The decision of the 1streferee was correct. For the safety of the player, the 1streferee must stop the rally immediately when an injury occurs and permit the team doctor and/or medical assistance to enter the court. If the injury appears to be serious and severe enough, the player should be removed from the court for at least one rally. The principle decision by the 1st referee is to give the player or/and the team doctor a reasonable time to know the seriousness of the injury, yet to limit the time before the substitution is required. Rules 15.7, 17.1.2
First of all the referee should request medical assistance. It is necessary to stop the game. If the player cannot recover, a legal substitution should be applied although it is a second substitution within the same interruption. If no legal substitution is possible an exceptional substitution will be applied. Rules 15.11.1.3
In order, that the substitution is clear for everybody, the substitute player should take the numbered paddle of the injured player and enter the substitution zone. The 2nd referee should be given the paddle to return it to the team. Rules 15.10.1, 17.1.1
Within the playing area the players have the priority to play. If the ball hits an outside object or a person penetrating from outside the playing area, e.g. the crane TV camera or a journalist reaching in to catch the ball, it should be considered as “external interference” and the rally should be replayed. On the video the Libero was about to play the ball and continue the rally, but the crane camera prevented him to do it. This should be considered as an "external interference" and the rally was to be replayed. Had the dig been misdirected towards the spectators, with no player able to play it, the referee will not judge this as external interference but ball OUT. Rule 17.2
The main principle is the security of the players. If the referees judge that the shoe, part of the player’s equipment, creates a dangerous object, they should stop the game. Because it was obvious that the player did not lose the shoe intentionally, his request to take it back cannot be considered as a delay. Rule 17.2
No. The referee should judge if this clash has an influence on his/her activity. If the referee cannot continue the work normally, the rally should be stopped and replayed. If there is no interference due to the clash, let the rally be continued without any interruption. Rule 17.2
The main principle is the security of the players. Therefore, if the referees realize that a second ball is on the court or is about to roll onto the court, they should interrupt the rally. If the second ball was sent onto the court intentionally by a team member, the philosophy should be the same, but this action must be considered as an aggressive action, leading to the disqualification of the team member. Rule 17.2